Three Novels of New York

Wharton, Edith

Ouvrage indisponible

Penguin Classics
août 2012
Livre broché
232 × 161 × 54 cm
Autres formats
  • Résumé

For the 150th anniversary year of Edith Wharton’s birth : her three greatest novels in a couture-inspired deluxe edition featuring a new introduction by Jonathan Franzen. Born into a distinguished New York family, Edith Wharton chronicled the lives of the wealthy, the well born, and the nouveau riches in fiction that often hinges on the collision of personal passion and social convention. This volume brings together her best-loved novels, all set in New York. The House of Mirth is the story of Lily Bart, who needs a rich husband but refuses to marry without both love and money. The Custom of the Country follows the marriages and affairs of Undine Spragg, who is as vain, spoiled, and selfish as she is irresistibly fascinating. The Pulitzer Prize-winning The Age of Innocence concerns the passionate bond that develops between the newly engaged Newland Archer and his cousin, the Countess Olenska, new to New York and newly divorced…
Bio de l'auteur
Sommaire / contenu
Nous vous suggérons aussi
Retour en haut de page